Can you remember when, where and what you learnt to ride?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

HorTs

Über Member
I can't remember how old I was (I guess around 5 or 6 in '86-'87) but it was on a yellow and chrome BMX type Raleigh bike at a local recreation ground. Though knowing my mum it was any old bike and had a Raleigh badge stuck on.

How about you?

edwardd67

Learned on a bike my grampa built from a frame he fished out a river.
In fact my first 2 bikes were built by him.
Roughly 1972-73 I was 4 or 5 years old in Robertson Park in Renfrew remember it like it was yesterday.

Fnaar

Smutmaster General
Had a yellow 3 wheeler with solid rubber tyres and a girly basket on the front... till aged 5 I graduated to 'the blue bike' which had already belonged to 2 older siblings, had one rod brake and a once-white plastic saddle. and was a rusty heap by the time I got it...I still used to clean it and try to look after it, in my 5 yr old way. I had it for 2 yrs I think, then it went to my younger brother. :smile:
I don't think I ever 'learned' to ride as such, and I don't remember stabilisers, it was just that all the kids on our road (there were squillions of us) all used to hang around on bikes most of the time, so you just got on with it.

tyred

Legendary Member
I do remember a very ancient Raleigh tricycle that had been passed down through many members of the family. Would have been in the early to mid 1980s. I then graduated to another hand me down, a smaller, cheap copy of the Raleigh Chopper. I'm not sure who made it as it had been painted many times.

Saluki

World class procrastinator
I had a tricycle. It had a big 'boot' thing at the back, like a bread bin, for carting things around in. It had a solid front wheel with blue leaf shapes from the hub to the tyre (solid tyre at that). The bike itself was dark red.