Cycling UK demand crackdown on drivers being allowed to keep licences after conviction.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
I relate this to when I was a teacher is a rather 'challenging' secondary school

The discipline system that eventually brought the behaviour around was very simple
First offence - a polite warning
Second offence - a yellow card - which came with a free 10 minute detention at the end of the day
Third offence - go straight to the isolation room - do not pass go - do not meet up with your mates for a fag behind the kitchen bins

Once that was enforced - and it was getting the teachers to enforce it that was the main problem - then behaviour fell into line

while kids were allowed to get away with the old " just one more chance Sir" concept then they just took the whatsit - and expected every teacher to go along with it every time

In my opinion the points system is the same

In most cases the offender has built up the points over a period of time
hence they have had plenty of warning that a ban is likly unless they learn to obey the rules

I would support a system where people with >x points are offered extra training to help them work out how to drive more slowly (hint - the right pedal makes you go faster - push it less and you go slower)
AT their own cost - in fact they are already available

but help and support at an earlier stage

but then no "one more chance" if you still get a ban

maybe the one circumstance I would allow 'one more chance' is if someone accrues a lot of point in one trip in exceptional circumstances
e.g person gets a phone call that their relative needs them urgently (maybe kid run over) and gets a load of speeding tickets in one day getting there
but I think the courts think about that anyway

the old "I can;t get to work'
or 'my poor kids won;t be able to get to the school I chose that I can only get to in my Range Rover"

BoldonLad

Not part of the Elite