Female, brakes and small hands!

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Julia9054

Guru
I have been riding a hybrid for a few years (with disc brakes) and recently bought my first road bike. It is a Jamis Xenith Endura Sport and I am loving it. I am, however, having a problem with the brakes as I feel that I can't reach them properly from the hoods and they don't feel anywhere near as responsive as what i am used to. This is scaring me on downhill runs and I was wondering if any other women with fairly small hands have the same problem. Is it just a question of getting used to it or are there any suggestions that anyone can make?

Mo1959

Legendary Member
I have been riding a hybrid for a few years (with disc brakes) and recently bought my first road bike. It is a Jamis Xenith Endura Sport and I am loving it. I am, however, having a problem with the brakes as I feel that I can't reach them properly from the hoods and they don't feel anywhere near as responsive as what i am used to. This is scaring me on downhill runs and I was wondering if any other women with fairly small hands have the same problem. Is it just a question of getting used to it or are there any suggestions that anyone can make?
I believe there are little shims that can be fitted to bring the levers closer to your fingers for braking. Have you a local bike shop that could take a look? Probably just be a couple of pounds I would imagine.

Shaun

Founder
There are a couple of braking positions when using drops:

7383345516_42606a5698[1].jpg

7383345066_65a2296f7f[1].jpg

Hi Julia,

Braking from the hoods definitely takes some getting used to and I remember it feeling "spongy" when I first got a road bike - but I got used to it.