Hello from Glasgow

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

judoka

I am new to the site and thought I would say hello.

Before I start asking advice.

I am a novice at cycling and way overweight 20st :sad:. I want to buy a bike to go out and about with my wife and son instead of being left in the house when they go for a bike ride.

I hope the forum will be able to help on my choice of bike, I have done some research and have some ideas.

Thanks for reading if you do

Judoka

Hi Judoka!:sad:

I take it from your username that your a judo player. Until recently I have done judo and am from Glasgow. Where do you train? We might well know each other!:angry:

Welcome to the forum,

As I see it, it really depends on what sort of riding you are doing. If its on Road and your wanting efficiency, speed and, capable of long distance go for a road bike. If its for light road and reasonable trails go for a Hybrid. If you are seriously going off road go for a mountain bike. The advantage of a Hybrid you can get them that are more orientated towards the road or the mtb end. Excuse me if I'm jumping to conclusions I'd guess a hybrid bike would be the best for what you hint at. The next thing is to sort out is your budget.

Jane Smart

The Queen
Can't advise you on your bike like the rest of them here, as I am fairly new to cycling too, but a huge welcome from me and good on you for wanting to get out there :smile:

ACS

Legendary Member
:smile::biggrin:

Glad to have you aboard

rh100

Hi and welcome

Can't advise you about the bike you need, but you are certainly asking in the right place before parting with any cash.