Hello there!

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

bigfella

Über Member
Hi all,

New to the forum but you could say I am new to Cycling as I haven't ridden for so long!

I'm now 25 but in my younger years I was very very fit and into cycling in a big way. 6-7 years have passed, I started to drive, work in an office and unfortunately put on a lot of weight! I'm now about 20 stone but hold it well as I am a big lad - 6'5 and stocky.

I'm looking to diet and get back on my bike again - I have a 2006 Giant XTC SE. Nice bike but I've hardly touched it, since moving to Essex from the countryside I'm not sure of where to go where cars won't knock me off!

Been looking into getting a Turbo trainer and turning it into an exercise bike.

-- Will post in the Health section.

Thanks,

Matt

Sig SilverPrinter

hi Matt
I live in Havering have you been to any of the country parks?
Hornchurch country park is good for cycling round there is also this park which opened last year
http://www.forestry.gov.uk/newsrele.nsf/WebPressReleases/130EC03F699E3657802574AB003DE321
which has cycle routes and a mountain bike course although haven't checked this one out yet and I only live just down the road:blush:

OP
OP
B

bigfella

Über Member
Thanks for the info, small work hey - didn't think there would be anyone so local! I live about 10mins ride from Hornchurch country park, and my partners parents road backs onto Ingrebourne Hill - I've had a walk around it but not sure how big it is.

I live near Rainham, how about you?

OP
OP
B

bigfella

Über Member
I work near Fenchurch St. and have been thinking about doing the same.

Not sure of what routes to take - the A13 doesn't look fun for a cyclist. How long would you say it is? I estimated 16 miles - 1:15?

Sig SilverPrinter

quickest I've done is 1hr 6mins