Hello

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

double0jedi

Hey all.

I'm Mike and I live in the beautiful East Devon countryside. A 44 year old overweight office worker! I commute to work most days but have to take the car when I have to drop the wife to her work, which is a couple of days a week : ( I have been cycling for about six months and I have dropped a little weight and improved my fitness....a little.
Looking at peoples posts here makes me too embarrassed to say how far the commute is as its not very long at all, and everyone else's seems a lot longer. (Smirk !)
Its still not bad for a big lad like me and considering I used to do no exercise at all, well its better than nothing.
I do really enjoy it, I guess that is the main thing. The posts on the forum have inspired me to go further afield and
this weekend I have planned a route that is about 40 miles. I know that is not much by most peoples standards but gotta start somewhere and I'm going to take my time.
Fascinated by the gear and kit that is out there and am looking to improve my cycling all the time.
When I reach a point where I am not bright red and panting all the time I will be very happy.

Cheers

Mad Doug Biker

Just a damaged guy.
Hello from West Central Scotland!

Katherine

Guru
Hi, sounds like you're doing well. It took me a couple of years to build up to 40 miles! Though I'm slightly older, I got stuck in the habit of 22 miles twice a week because I could fit it into a 2 hour window around the family. Now they're all grown up I've been able to go for longer rides. Finding a group to ride with once a month has really helped.
Good to hear that you are enjoying your riding and losing weight too. I dropped 3 sizes!
Have fun.

Ganymede

Veteran
Hi there! I love East Devon. Hilly though, eh?