Hi from the West Midlands

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

WozzaTT

Hi. I started a couple of threads when I was fannying about trying to a) decide whether to get a road bike and b) choose a bike, but I now pick my new bike up tomorrow so thought I'd better say hello in here.

45, 5'11", 15 stone, complete beginner (rode BMXs as a kid and had a couple of 'racers'), hideously unfit.

I want to ride to get fit, lose weight, get out in the countryside, get the adrenaline pumping, compete against myself using strava or whatever and generally have fun. I hope the bug bites!

Any hints/tips/advice welcome - I'm off to track down reasonably priced starter equipment such as helmet, padded shorts etc as I've got nothing yet and will be walking the bike home at this rate.

BrumJim

Forum Stalwart (won't take the hint and leave...)
Hi.
Don't delay - get out whilst the weather is good. Explore the local area (lovely part of the country near you, and not too many serious hills in the locality), find some good tea stops, find some people to ride with, and start to increase your distances.
First ride will be 5-10 miles, and will leave you exhausted. After that, distances will increase dramatically, until by the end of summer, 30 miles shouldn't intimidate you. Next year, 50 miles will be a good aim, and then 100km. Before long, 100 miles will seem like a reasonable challenge.

And then you will realise that I am not being optimistic, or over-estimating your general fitness level.

Enjoy.

OP
OP
WozzaTT

WozzaTT

Hi.
Don't delay - get out whilst the weather is good. Explore the local area (lovely part of the country near you, and not too many serious hills in the locality), find some good tea stops, find some people to ride with, and start to increase your distances.