Just bought a road bike and have questions

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Jamy

Hi all!

Now I've just moved on from a casual mountain bike to a shiny new road bike mainly for work and fitness purposes and have a few things I need some help with.

I'm new to taking biking slightly seriously this time around so bare with me if i get terminology wrong etc.

The bike I went with was a Giant Defy 4 XL;

Firstly the gears were (skipping?) when i bought the bike and saw a video recommending that i adjust the derailleur. I did this and it solved the skipping issue but I still get some stiffness in certain gears while changing and a general rattle noise while cycling any tips for this? should i just further adjust the derailleur?

Secondly I'm really not used to riding a road bike and have managed to fall off twice in 2 days of having it. I'm not a confident rider at all so I tend to stick to cycle paths where possible as i live in a congested area. Both times I've fallen were while trying to go up the shallow part of a curb, I just end up riding along side it and buckling. Any tips on this as I struggle keeping it stable all round but seem to manage in that regard just about.

Lastly (Sorry to go on!) Should i invest in some higher grip tyres for winter time, I am using the stock tyres at the moment and can't see them doing to well when the ice hits.

Many thanks!

Cuchilo

Prize winning member X2
Hi all!

Now I've just moved on from a casual mountain bike to a shiny new road bike mainly for work and fitness purposes and have a few things I need some help with.

I'm new to taking biking slightly seriously this time around so bare with me if i get terminology wrong etc.

The bike I went with was a Giant Defy 4 XL;