New To Cycling Doing Ride London 100 In August

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

aerobrain

Über Member
Hi

Although I say I'm new to cycling I've been spinning for a few years and when I was younger I lived on my bike. But I recenetly entered the Ride London 100 race in August so it's defintiely taken it all on to another level for me.

I currently own a Specialized Rockhopper 27sp hardtail, as currently this is a one off event for me and the fact that my main hobby drains most of my cash I'm planning on doing the event on this bike and hopefully just doing a few mods to help make the ride a bit easier. I'm not interested in breaking any records, there's a 9hr time limit and there's every chance I'll be using most of that!!

Could anyone let me know which sub category on this forum to post in regarding getting advice on what mods to do and how to go about them? Thinking along the lines of chainset, tyres and potentially adding some (correct if I'm using the wrong term!!) aero bars.

Many thanks

Lee

JoeyB

Go on, tilt your head!
Hi!!!!

Is that 100 KMs or Miles?

I'd just add slick tyres and crack on with it as is. I did my first few longer rides on my MTB with slicks without an issue. Granted you won't keep up with the roadies but that's not what its all about anyway so no bother there!

OP
OP
aerobrain

aerobrain

Über Member
100 miles :-/ Really looking forward to it though. I'm currently more of a runner, albeit more of a plodder, and I've wanted to do the Scotland Coast to Coast for a few years but wanted to do a decent length cycling event first and maybe a few duathlons to see how I get on.