Newbie here: Bit of 29er Advice please!

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

DazzR81

Hi Everyone,

This is my first post, so please be nice! ^_^

I've just bought a second-hand Voodoo Marasa 29er frame (not sure on the year, but I think it's 2012). The plan is to do a custom build, as a long-term project to give me something to do. I was diagnosed with a form of Leukaemia in Dec 2013, so like to keep busy, without too much stress(!) The plan is to use the finished bike to do short 2-5-mile commuter-type rides around London Town, to save myself some money on transport.

I'm new to bike building, but think I know most of the terms, and have a fair idea of what I want!

My first questions are;

I need to buy some forks... I was looking at some retro Kona P2's, but they are hard to come by, even on ebay. Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated! The other question I have, is what size forks to get - I'm a bit bewildered by the choice of axle-crown measurements on some models! I will need a steerer tube of at least 200mm, as the head tube itself is 150mm. I will also need to have disc mounts as the frame is disc-only on the rear and I want to keep it consistent.

Related to the above, does anyone have any recommendations for headset & stem's? I will need a fairly upright riding position, as I tend to get a bit of back ache quite easily.

Lastly, any recommendations on rims/hubs/wheelsets? I've heard that Mavic rims on Shimano hubs are quite a good combo, but I would like to research other options.

I'm sure I'll have plenty of other questions as I get going, but right now I just want to get to a point where I've decided the crucial major components before I start looking at gearing & brakes.

Sorry for the essay, and thanks in advance for your help! :smile:

:bicycle:
Darren

Mrs M

Guru
Hello
Sorry can't give you any "technical" advice but good luck and :welcome:

lpretro1