Planning a solo tour in the Outer Hebrides .... any advice/recommendations?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Fab Foodie

hanging-on in quiet desperation ...
Dears

It's a long long time since I've done any serious touring and I've never toured alone in 40 years cycling, so in some ways I'm a bit of a newbie that also thinks he knows it all.

Due to circumstances I find myself in the somewhat enviable position to have 2 weeks hols to myself and it's about time I made that long overdue visit to my old mate Brighton Bob. Thing is he now lives in the Outer Hebridies. So the plan is as below (or a variation) as an initial 'scouting trip'. Expecting to have most meals at pubs/cafes/hostelries with basic cooking kit for camping duties. Accomodation will be a mix of wild camping or YHA weather etc. depending.

Drive and abandon car in Mallaig
Ferry to Lochboisdale
2 Day Ride up to Bernesay = 55 miles
Get Ferry to Harris - Leverburgh
Spend 2 days riding to Butt of Lewis = 90 miles
1Day chilling
1 Day hard ride back to Leverburgh = 90 miles
Ferry back to Berneray for 2 or 3 days chillin
Cycle to Brighton Bob's = 25 miles
Chill for a few days
Ferry from LochMaddy to Uig on Skye
1 Day Cycle to Portree = 30 miles
1 Day Cycle to Mallaig via Ferry
Drive back to Abingdon

I'm going to be on the faithful Rourkie with dynamo lighting (More Audax than) load-lugger (see overloaded first trial in photo below), Large rear panniers and a small bar bag. Hope not to need additional Saddle baggage:

Tent Vango Banshee 200
2 season light down bag
Inflatable 3/4 mat
Maybe bivvy bag too ... just in case I need to sleep 'Audax Stylee'!
Sit mat
Cooking kit (600ml Titanium cup and pocket stove + Spirit burner + Spork + Meths, Swiss Army Knife). .
Small bottle detergent
1/2 scourer
Tea bags, sugar, emergency rations
Minimal clothing ( Fleece, couple of Tees, longs, shorts, socks, pants, Vans, wool beanie hat, sun hat).