Ribble prime?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
OP
OP
Leaway2

Leaway2

Lycrist
Well I have bought one, so I guess I will find out.

russ.will

Slimboy Fat
I'm no expert, but £374 for an alloy/carbon frame/fork and Claris? Unless the wheels are made of cheese (and even then) it seems like a lot of bike for the money. look forward to hearing your thoughts. :smile:

Russell

OP
OP
Leaway2

Leaway2

Lycrist
I'm no expert, but £374 for an alloy/carbon frame/fork and Claris? Unless the wheels are made of cheese (and even then) it seems like a lot of bike for the money. look forward to hearing your thoughts. :smile:

Russell
That is what I thought. The thing that bothers me is there is no weight shown on the website. Just hope the courier isn't wearing a truss when he delivers it.
This is intended to be my winter commute bike.

Last edited:

gbb

Legendary Member
Nice looking for the money. It'll be interesting to see wht you think of it in the flesh and how it rides.
Even if, as russ.will says, IF the wheels are made of cheese, a pair of R501s or similar won't break the bank in the future.

steve50

Disenchanted Member
Just been scouring the web for weights of these bikes but no joy, however the reviews are all good, great value bike for the £££££££££££££'s

alecstilleyedye

nothing in moderation
weight is about 10kg without pedals, bottle cage or any other usual frame/handlebar clutter. it's almost £1000 less than I paid for my ribble r872, and about 4kg heavier; so it seems to be that it costs about £250 for each kilogram lost.

the prime hasn't been tested yet (other than on the stand) as it's a birthday present for my son (13 in a week and a bit), who has been making do with an old carlton with dodgy old fashioned brakes and a bottle cage held on with gaffa tape and cable ties. it seemed to shift nicely, i also took the liberty of removing the pie plate from the back, that added nothing other than a rattly noise.