Teaching English Abroad/in Hong Kong

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
Anyone done/doing this?

I'm a bit sick of this country at the moment and me and the missus are thinking of moving out to Hong Kong for a bit. Probably 3 months at first to check we like it and then 12 months or so.

I'm a qualified accountant, but I won't be able to work over there as I don't speak chinese. I also fancy a break from spreadsheets and budgets!

I've seen TEFL courses and there seems to be a niche for teaching professionals "business English". Quite fancy this tbh. As long as it covers the living expenses (missus is going to work too) then I'm not too bothered about the pay rate. Mortgage over here will be covered for a while out of savings.

Anyone got experience of TEFL courses, particularly online ones?

How long did it take and how quickly did you get a job?

Thanks in advance.

Fnaar

Smutmaster General
Do either a CELTA course (see here for info) or a Trinity Cert TESOL (see here for info)
Personally I wouldn't bother with an online course... you need practical classroom experience. Also employers will all have heard of the CELTA or Trinity courses, and most reputable ones will ask for either as a minimum.
Not cheap (700-1,000 quid is typical) for a four week intensive (very intensive) course. Some centres (see the websites for centre lists) will offer them part-time. Or, (again follow through on centre lists) if it's an option for you, take one abroad...

HK - nice :blush:. I lived there for a while when I was a kid. Cost of accommodation on the island is very high though.

Globalti

Legendary Member