Todmorden to Rivington loop, Saturday, 7th May, 2016

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

ColinJ

Puzzle game procrastinator!
It is time for me to unveil my next forum ride, on a route which I have never done before. I have ridden the start and finish legs many times but the mid-section is new to me. I mentioned the ride to @Littgull on our last ride together and he has already put this one in his diary

The route starts and finishes in Todmorden (Lancashire or West Yorkshire depending on your allegiances - the border traditionally went down the middle of the Town Hall. We now have a Lancashire postcode but a Yorkshire council ...)

I got a lift over to Rivington (near Bolton) in 2002 to watch the Commonwealth Games road races and thought then that I would like to cycle over the hills there, but I never got round to it until now. This ride is to remedy that oversight.

As you will see from the profile below, it is a very lumpy 116 km (72 mile) route so the full route is not really suitable for those not confident to tackle a ride of that length and difficulty.

Route: Todmorden, A646 towards Burnley, Holme Chapel, Mereclough, Burnley, Fence, Padiham Heights, Old Roman Rd, Portfield, Whalley, York, Mellor, Samlesbury Bottoms, Hoghton, Johnson's Hillock, Anglezarke Reservoir, Rivington [Cafe stop - cafe to be decided later], Sheep House Lane, Belmont, Turton Moor, Entwistle Station, Edgworth, Ramsbottom, B6235, B6232, Haslingden, 'top road' along Rossendale valley****, Bacup, Sharneyford, Shade, Todmorden. (GPX file of route attached at the bottom of this post.)

**** I've been told that this road is a bit of a 'rat-run'. Let's check it out to avoid the A-road in the valley but if it IS a bit iffy, then I promise that won't choose it again! :okay:

Full ride route:
Rivington forum ride route.gif

Full ride profile:
Rivington forum ride profile.gif