Trainer Road - Newbie Advice

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Joffey

Big Dosser
Hi

Thinking about getting some turbo sessions in this winter and I like the idea of a structured plan on Trainer Road. Problem is I am new to all this and wondered exactly what kit i will need.

Currently I have an old Elite turbo so I could use this but I don't mind spending a little bit of cash to get a better experience. So:

• Should I get a cheap smart trainer and if so what one?
  • If I get a smart trainer would it work with an iPad?
  • Would I be able to record my rides on my Garmin 520 (is this necessary?)
  • Would it work with an Ant+ speed sensor?
  • Would I be better buying a power meter and using with basic trainer or buying smart trainer?
  • Do you need an internet connection to use Trainer Road? No sure if the Wifi is reliable in the garage
A lot of questions I know so sorry in advance but any help / advise would be appreciated. Thanks.

Tin Pot

Guru
Hi

Thinking about getting some turbo sessions in this winter and I like the idea of a structured plan on Trainer Road. Problem is I am new to all this and wondered exactly what kit i will need.

Currently I have an old Elite turbo so I could use this but I don't mind spending a little bit of cash to get a better experience. So:

• Should I get a cheap smart trainer and if so what one?
  • If I get a smart trainer would it work with an iPad?
  • Would I be able to record my rides on my Garmin 520 (is this necessary?)
  • Would it work with an Ant+ speed sensor?
  • Would I be better buying a power meter and using with basic trainer or buying smart trainer?
  • Do you need an internet connection to use Trainer Road? No sure if the Wifi is reliable in the garage
A lot of questions I know so sorry in advance but any help / advise would be appreciated. Thanks.

Hi Joffey - a shame no one replied, did you move ahead with this?

How have you found it?

CXRAndy

Guru
Hi