What a difference raised saddle height can make!

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Danny251

I have been riding for 2 weeks and I am a born again cyclist lol but I have always
had severe front knee pain that I knew shouldn't happen.

After playing around with saddle height I have stumbled upon the correct configuration and I can't believe the difference.
Hills are so much easier now and my knees don't suffer that level of agony any more :biggrin:

I think I just underestimated how high I needed the saddle.

Same here, being a noob I set my saddle quite low originally, set up so I could touch the floor just about without leaning.

Now I have it quite a bit taller and am finding it a lot less stress on the knees.

lulubel

Über Member
I started out with the saddle low enough to touch the ground. It took me a lot of time, effort and practice to learn to get off the saddle when I stopped, but the difference it made when I had the saddle higher was amazing.

I'm getting a little bit of knee pain on and off now, but I know it's because I'm increasing my mileage quite drastically at the moment, and it settles down after an easy (small hills) day or a total rest day.

Bicycle

I had to move the other way.

Years ago I wanted my leg as straight as I could get it at the bottom of the stroke and had the saddle absurdly high.

My hips were swaying away and I was convinced I was ttransmitting pure, undiluted power to the tarmac.

I am now lower and (slightly) wiser.

I'm still quite staggered by what a difference even the slightest change in saddle height can make.

A small part of my brain still wants to shout "That leg should be straight!".

OP
OP
Danny251

Danny251

The thing is the LBS fitted the saddle height for me so that is why I took their word for it originally being an amateur.

With a little bit of experience and research though I have realised that it wasn't the correct height after all.