Winter Cycling..........how do you keep warm ?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Dave7

Legendary Member
The situation....................
This is my first year for winter cycling (I want to keep cycle-fit over winter).
I have always suffered bad circulation as I have Reynauds.
As an 'old fart' I feel the cold even more.
Today I did an 18 miler and wore.............
  • 3 base layers plus a wind-proof top..........body was warm :smile:
  • long johns plus running leggings........legs were OKish
  • Ordinary socks............feet were blocks of ice :sad:..........will try thermal socks next time
  • Thermal skull cap............OKish.......will try a snood next time
  • Wind-proof gloves.........hands were like toast :smile:
So.....................
3 base layers seems extreme.............what is the alternative ?
Are thermal socks the answer to VERY cold feet.
Is a snood the answer to a cold neck & face ?

clid61

Veteran
Merino wool socks from go outdooors and some overshoes. once the extremities get cold the rest follows!

q

Milkfloat

An Peanut
When it is crazy cold I have been known to wear thin liner socks, waterproof socks and then neoprene overshoes. After a few miles it only seems to be my feet that get really cold the rest of my body is fine (although a dripping nose is a guarantee).

nickyboy

Norven Mankey
Just cycle faster to keep warm

Actually, to keep feet warm on really cold days (like Sunday was in Cheshire) I wear Sealskins socks and neoprene overshoes. I managed three and a half hours (the first hour of which was in the rain) and my feet were OK. Even if it's not wet the overshoes help keep the windchill down

Edit : Milkfloat beat me to it

Craghoppers hat, kneck buff up over ears, mouth and nose.
Cycle top with bibbed leggings over top.
Endura coat
Endura 3/4 Baggie shorts over leggings (because I don't like the nuts on show look)
Normal socks and overshoes.
Toasty today.
image.jpeg

ianrauk

Tattooed Beat Messiah