A good reason not to buy a compact frame

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

reacher

Is it me or are compact frames unsafe ?
Turning today and my front foot jammed on the front wheel , quite a nasty fall as well , is this a common fault or have i got a badly designed bike or am i riding it wrong or something , when i look at the bike its a ridiculous design , i'm no expert but surely a bike should be long enough to turn a wheel with out your front foot hitting the front wheel , when i was a nipper they never did , having turned to cycling at the grand age i am it seems to me that bikes are worse than they were 45 odd years ago , an trust me the bikes we had then did not cost as much as this so called super modern design bag of shite i paid a fortune for now , it belongs in a circus with a migdet riding it i reckon ,

I don't know if its unique to compact frames but some frames suffer quite a bit with toe overlap, its not too much of a problem for me but I don't do tight slow turns. My Sirrus is a compact frame and I can't ever remember it being a problem for me (but its on the turbo these days), I probably got used to it. It sounds like a compact was a problem for you however, I hope your fall wasn't too bad, GWS!

Smokin Joe

Legendary Member
It's nothing to do with whether the frame is a compact or not, toe overlap is determined by head-tube geometry and fork rake. I haven't owned a bike without toe overlap for about 45 years, and there isn't a racing frame made anywhere in the world that doesn't have it built in. It only effects you at walking pace speeds as that is the only time you actually steer the bike into a turn rather than banking it. Once you understand it it is easy to overcome, if you can't live with it then you need a touring frame, MTB or BSO.

sidevalve

Über Member