Another newbie Numpty question!

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

threshold

Hi all, great site, really informative and friendly, I am new to the scene, too old for rugby now, but wanting to stay fit, am doing the 9 mile ( each way) commute on a bottom of the range Hawk 15 speed front suspension MTB, but am finding hills I thought would be a breeze not all that easy, just lots of spinning and not much forward velocity! My question to those who know better is would it benefit me to swap the 26 x 190 'knobblies' for smoother profile tyres, bearing in mind my route is mainly A roads that look for all the world like a post war Iraqui airfield surface! Any advice greatly appreciated Guys ( and Girls) :thumbsup:

swee'pea99

Legendary Member
Hi Threshold!

Narrower, smoother, harder, all = faster (and can make a big difference) - but do make for a bumpier ride - more noticeable the bumpier the road, obviously! I ride 23mm slicks on a racer on far-from-great London roads, and wouldn't ride anything else. I'd certainly try - you can always go back.

Hello threshold - like swee'p I ride the debris strewn roads of London from West to North. I started on 23cs and moved up a little to 25cs. If all this talk of tyre sizes sounds confusing try looking at Sheldon Brown here. I often wonder how comfortable it would be just to crash over anything in my path instead of avoiding drain covers, road joints etc etc - but I suppose it is part of the fun of the commute...
Your speed will improve as you build up appropriate muscle strength - the front suspension will absorb a lot of your effort so weld them rigid!:thumbsup:. Soon, your bike will not be 'good enough' and you'll have to start a collection!:smile: I am 100+kg and also (long time ago) ex-rugby and it is surprising how much you can learn by dipping in around here...don't forget to visit the Café for a pie. xx(

Shaun

Founder