Another Newbie! Problem with gears

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Liveaxle

Hello everyone, I'm just getting into road riding after several (very!) intermitttent years mountain biking, I've now got a Scott S60 Speedster, trouble is I've b*gg*r*d the gears up!:rolleyes:,I was getting a bit of a noise in one of the top gears so had a go at adjusting the front derailleur which made everything ten times worse (can't even get onto the top front ring and the rear is jumping as it moves up to the largest gear) I've found a couple of online guides one from Bob Sheldon and another from Etape TV which are quite helpful, Could anybody advise me on how to sort it out or recomend any othe online guides or should I give up and take it to a LBS (time & money's a bit short though!):smile: I just can'yt wait to get out on it tis frustrating when the roads are dry. :angry:

Oldlegs

Frogs are people too.
Front derailleurs can be a real sod to get right - much harder than the rear because the chain is under tension. Here is another online guide http://www.parktool.com/repair/readhowto.asp?id=75 that worked for me.
Cheers
Steve

woohoo

Veteran
Oldlegs said:
Front derailleurs can be a real sod to get right - much harder than the rear because the chain is under tension. Here is another online guide http://www.parktool.com/repair/readhowto.asp?id=75 that worked for me.
Cheers
Steve
Agreed. It took me ages to get my compact chainset to drop reliably to the smaller ring without coming off and jamming between the ring and the frame. I only got it completely right after I bought a workshop stand (why oh why didn't I do this earlier) and could adjust the settings "on the fly". Moving the adjusting screws and then trying it out on the road (repeat several times :rolleyes:) just didn't work for me.

frog

(can't even get onto the top front ring and the rear is jumping as it moves up to the largest gear)