Any bio-chemists on here?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Globalti

Legendary Member
I'm pushing myself quite hard at the moment to get fit and lose weight for a cycling event in March, eating a lot less and exercising quite hard twice a week. In the last month our tap water has smelled of chlorine more than usual, which is probably just a seasonal variation in the amount the supplier is adding. However in the last two days the water has smelled of BO, a "stewey" underarm odour. Nobody else in the house can smell it (both my wife and I work in the perfume industry so have well-practiced noses). I Googled "tap water smells of BO" and interestingly, the first hit was from a body building website. I have checked with United Utilities and they say they the last test was on 4 February when the level of chlorine was "0.41 mg/litre total chlorine residue", which sounds tiny to me.

I know that pregnant or menstruating women can experience changes in their perception of odours and I know that chemical changes in the body can produce a fatty greasy taste in the mouth of people who are dieting (have had this before when cutting out carbs) so I'm wondering if my own body is undergoing chemical changes, which are causing me to percieve the cholrine smell as a BO smell. Could the nose perceive chlorine as butyric acid or isovaleric acid, for example?

United Utilities were quite interested when I phoned and are coming to sample our tap water next week.

Svendo

Guru
With you pushing hard at the moment, are you sure it's not just your sweaty pits opening up when you lift a glass to your mouth to drink?;)

BTW can chemotherapy also give you the everything smells intensly sensation. When my sister was being treated we couldn't have coffee in her house.

OP
OP
Globalti

Globalti

Legendary Member