Anyone got one of these or know much about them ?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

numbnuts

Legendary Member
Dave, I'm no expert on electric bikes, but what would worry me with a “built in battery”, what happens if the said company goes bust and you need a replacement.

OP
OP
Dave7

Dave7

Legendary Member
Dave, I'm no expert on electric bikes, but what would worry me with a “built in battery”, what happens if the said company goes bust and you need a replacement.
My understanding is that all/most built in batteries are interchangeable (I may have that wrong).
They can be removed and replaced by a competent person..... which lets me out ^_^ or at your LBS.
One of the reasons I am looking at Cannondale is that the dealer is local

My understanding is that all/most built in batteries are interchangeable (I may have that wrong).
They can be removed and replaced by a competent person..... which lets me out ^_^ or at your LBS.
mm - cannondale - been though several ownerships - god knows who owns them now - for a while had no British representation - I had a very nice expensive dale with clever suspension - had increasing issues getting it serviced - ended up speaking to a dale bod in the netherlands who basically said scrap it - said that I surely wouldn't expect to get bits/servicing for a car of that age (10 years maybe) and would surely just scrap that. Not true for cars of course and I found his argument bizarre and terrible.
I wouldn't touch anything by dale now.
It is a wonderful frame though - excellent welding of the ally. Done in the states I think.

Pale Rider

Legendary Member

The battery case is bespoke, so if the company folds a replacement may be hard to source.

However, it uses standard Samsung cells, so it should be possible to recell it, provided the case can be opened and closed without wrecking it, and provided the software doesn't brick itself if the cells are changed.