audax or tourer

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

blazingsaddles

Just wanted a bit of advice on the choice of my next bicycle please.

I'm looking at a couple of bikes/designs for my cycling needs which are everyday commuting and also some 40-100 mile day trips and once a year a week long tour in Spain probably carrying camping gear.

I was thinking of a steel framed cycle either a Dawes Audax or Dawes Galaxy. My budget is about £ 700.00. Would the Audax cope with the tour and camping gear? If not is the Galaxy a better option? I was also looking at the Ridgeback Voyage which is £ 550.00 and has a Reynolds 520 steel frame but I think inferior kit elsewhere to the basic Galaxy. I'm open to advice as I'm fairly new to cycling and would like to make a wise decision.

Many thanks​

Alves

For those sort of loads, I'd go with the wider tyres and better carrying capacity of a touring bike. You can Audax on anything but only a purpose built tourer will happily handle camping gear. If you tend to camp very lightly then you might get away with the lighter Audax bike which will be faster and more "fun to ride", if you credit card tour and stay in B&Bs and hostels then the Audax with a saddle bag woudl be an excellent choice.
I had a Dawes Horizon (heavyweight tourer) initially and used it for both touring and Audax and then I got a lightweight Audax bike with narrow wheels and tyres and loved it so much, I wouldn't go back to "proper camping" and I've sold the tourer and only do very lightweight camping or B&Bing out of a saddle bag.
You need to think which is the most important activity to you and get the bike most appropriate for that. The Audax bike can take panniers on the back and a bag on top of these but will not be very happy and will tend to sway at the back and the narrower tyres will not be as comfortable with heavy loads or on dubious tracks. Similarily, you'll enjoy commuting and Audax and day rides more on the lighter bike.