Beginner bike choice wrong?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

DirtGambit

Hi, This is my first post. I have been cycling for about 4 months, I really enjoy it but I think my first bike choice was wrong. I only do road cycling for leisure and just to get out the house and keep fit. recently I have became more competitive and I want to beat my 20 mile time. The bike I purchased was a moutain bike, it was a cheap £200 paradox from halfords, its very heavy and looking at others times who do the same route as me they are able to knock 20 - 25 minutes from times i posted and are using hybrid and road bikes. Will upgrading to a hybrid make my 20miles more enjoyable or should I just keep practicing on my paradox. 20 miles on it is hard work, and I mean hard going, especially at hills, i just seem to crawl up them and thats where im losing my time. A cyclist passed me on a hill using a boardman hybrid, he was going so much faster than me and Im a fit guy. Should I upgrade to a boardman?

Hacienda71

Mancunian in self imposed exile in leafy Cheshire
A quick google tells me an Apollo Paradox is a full suspension bike. In which case it will be difficult to improve it for road riding. So yes your mates on hybrids and road bikes will go a lot faster. The difficulty is that the suspension will absorb the energy you are trying to put through the pedals. Adding slick tyres would help a little but the best way is to gety a road specific bike either hybrid or road. If you like to ride off road a bit then a hardtail mtb with suspension lockout is a better compromise than a full suspension bike. There is nothing wrong with using the existing bike until you are in a position to get a new bike but it will feel hard work because the bike is not designed for road riding and therefore may reduce your motivation to get out there.

PaulSecteur

No longer a Specialized fanboy