Bent derailleur hanger

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Radius

SHREDDER
Sorry to post again, different problem. I'm pretty sure my rear derailleur hanger is bent, as it looks very much like this

DAG03.jpg

That's not terribly good, but I'm no expert on bike fixing as yet, so what is the best thing to do (apart from LBS, which I would prefer as my last resort)

Thanks again,

JM

Monst

Looks a tad bent.

You'll have to go online and by another gear hanger - if it's replaceable. Take out the rear wheel and have a look. There will be some screws etc holding it in if its replaceable.

If its not replaceable take it to the lbs.

In both cases the repair will take about 10 minutes and cost about a tenner.

02GF74

Über Member
yep, it does appear to be.

but what makes you ask - have you recently bashed the rear end?

the swing arm looks like aluminium alloy so chances are the handler bolts onto the drop out with 2 bolts.

remove the hanger and straightern it in a vice - you are not supposed to straighten aluminium alloy but I have done it on much more bent ones than that.

worst case, it will fracture or break, in whcih case you need to fit a replacement as ^^^ says.

llllllll

As above, try and straighten it first. Mine was straightened out 2 or 3 years ago and is still going strong.

barq

Assuming that's an aluminium hanger, be aware that it won't like being bent. So you basically get one shot at straightening it out (don't start wiggling it to and fro and making small adjustments!). Unless you get lucky it will be a temporary fix until you get a replacement rear mech hanger (which will be specific to the manufacturer/model and cost about £12 - 15).

If it is steel, bending back is no problem, but a bike shop may do a better job of getting it spot on.

fossyant

Ride It Like You Stole It!