Bike Project Help

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

jamie1234

Hi, Sorry if i have done this wrong but I am a bit new to this, so bear with me!

I have recently bought a old reynolds racing frame about 20-30 years old.. I am trying to upgrade parts etc but have been told that it will be impossible to change the wheels due to new racing wheels being to wide to fit on the bike? Is there any way i can put a new set of wheels on the bike? Also is it possible for me to put other new components on the bike such as brakes etc.. will they fit?

Sorry if this is basic stuff..

Thanks
biggrin.gif

Never heard that one before,If anything modern 700c wheels are a bit narrower than the old 27"

The diameter of the new wheels are slightly smaller.but only by a few mm

You just need a deeper drop brake

I use old frames and new wheels,brakes etc with no problems

Oh, and welcome to the forum :hello:

tyred

Legendary Member
I would assume they're talking about the hubs, rather than the wheel rims themselves. There is a small difference, things can be bent to suit. Some older bikes had narrow diameter front axles which may require filing out to fit a modern hub, but again this is not a major problem.

My advice is to either learn to do it yourself, Sheldon Brown and forums like this one can answer your questions or else find another bike shop who want to help you keep and old bike on the road rather than try and sell a new one.

4F

Active member of Helmets Are Sh*t Lobby
What a load of old pony, who gave you that piece of advice. Most things are possible on steel bikes and their are ways of making things fit.

Old frame user here with no problems

OP
OP
J

jamie1234

Wow thankyou all very much in replying.. I think it was actually as TYRED said something to do with the hubs. at the moment there is a 5 speed freewheel on the back.. therefore would it be possible to stick this on a new wheel..

Thanks again

biggrin.gif

Amanda P

Legendary Member