bike rollers...any tips ?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

rollinstok

Well I took the plunge today. With rides approaching soon and a Hadrians Cycleway in 3 months, I am desperate to regain some fitness despite the freezing temperatures.

I just ordered some Elite Ghibli rollers for £135 off Amazon.. the 2 reviews on there were pretty good. Has anyone got any experience of these ?

Any tips regarding rollers in general would be much appreciated.

BigonaBianchi

Yes I can, Yes I am, Yes I did...Repeat.
apart from the rollers i use to do my hair :whistle: i have no experience of rollers...but i would be interested in learning how you get on when you get them...rollers are something i've been thinking of too.

Ian H

Ancient randonneur
For the first few times set them up next to a wall. You can use your elbow to steady yourself while getting up speed. Then look ahead, not down. Real skill is doing it no-hands.

OP
OP
rollinstok

rollinstok

For the first few times set them up next to a wall. You can use your elbow to steady yourself while getting up speed. Then look ahead, not down. Real skill is doing it no-hands.

Would they be ok in a hallway which has about 8" clearance on either side of handlebars ?
Not sure if it would be safer or prove catastrophic if the handlebar caught the wall ?

Dogberry

Any reason why you plumped for rollers instead of a turbo ?

I've got a turbo and the reason I chose that is because I didnt think I could trust myself not to touch the brakes on rollers :eek:

Ian H

Ancient randonneur
Would they be ok in a hallway which has about 8" clearance on either side of handlebars ?
Not sure if it would be safer or prove catastrophic if the handlebar caught the wall ?
A) If you're using drops your arm should touch first.
B) You and the wall are moving at the same speed.
Nothing serious will happen, though if you get completely off-balance you could end up in a bit of a tangle. Better than hitting the floor though.