Boardman or Genesis

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

downtown

I am new to Cyclocross. I am not going to be racing but I want a light sturdy commuter that I can take down some dirt tracks in a large wood on the way to work.

I am looking at the CX pro from Boardman which isn't available in the UK but I live in France and Wiggle will ship for free. http://www.boardmanbikes.com/cx/cx_pro.html

or a Genesis Day One Alfine 11 which looks lovely and I am attracted by the low maintenance aspect of the alfine hub. http://www.evanscycles.com/products...yclocross-bike-ec030770?query=genesis day one
To be honest I am a snob and the whole Halfords thing is putting me off the Boardman - I have had so many bad experiences with Halfords on the bike front that I question Boardman's strategy. Anyway that is getting away from the point.

Which would you recommend? and are there any other British built bikes I should be looking at? - your advice is much appreciated.

VamP

Banned
If it's disc braked bikes you're after then definitely consider this, this and this.

Define UK built, as the Boardman frame is made in Taiwan, as are many others. The Whyte, On One and Kinesis offerings are UK designed, but I don't think the frames are made here. As for the Pro 6, don't get distracted by the price of the bike in that review, thats for a showcase build. The frame itself is very reasonably priced.

Paul Milnes makes some great frames in the UK, although they are generally quite race focused and I don't believe that he has a disc brake ready frame.

Everti make some great custom builds, if titanium floats your boat, and you can inflate your budget, the Odyssey I believe is a disc bike.

OP
OP
D

downtown

I can't get over how pretty the Genesis is. Have either of you ridden a bike with the alfine hub?

VamP

Banned
I can't get over how pretty the Genesis is. Have either of you ridden a bike with the alfine hub?

Never have soz.