Cateye Strada Cadence Cycle Computer

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

BrumJim

Forum Stalwart (won't take the hint and leave...)
Requirements:
Lowest price and a cadence readout.
I'm mindful of the fact that I'm a bit of a grinder, and if I want my knees to last well into old age (can't give up the ski-ing), I would need to start spinning more. Also fancied the idea of a cycle computer so that I could see how fast I was travelling and if my commuting times were coming down or not.

So, is it any good?

Installation - not too bad. I started one evening, but didn't have anything like enough time - leave 30mins spare, as you can't do half the job and then finish it off later. Mostly simple to do - although I'm an engineer by trade, I'm by no means the most dexterous or competent person when it comes to using my hands. All fitted well the first time. The magnet on the pedal all seemed a bit casual - used a big cable tie and the installation looks more than a bit casual - would like to have seen something better here. Cables fitted well - wireless just seems like an unnecessary expense to make the system less reliable.

Did it work? First time with no adjustments.

In action:
Screen - this isn't the largest thing in history, and will only show the speed in the large numbers, other data is in smaller numbers at the bottom, and aren't really visible when you are out of the saddle. Adjusting time, wheel diameter, etc is more than a little fiddly, and don't know why there is a two wheel option, unless I can buy an installation kit (sensors, cables, etc) for my second bike, should I get one. However operating it when it is on the bike is very easy - one push and you cycle through the options of what is displayed at the bottom. The cradle holds the computer securely.
How are my knees?