Chain jammed help.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Cuber

Hi all

My chain flew off the small ring and jammed between it and my frame damaging the carbon frame (not sure how bad )now im not a bike mechanic but on inspection it was obvious the derailer hadnt been set correctly.

The bikes only 5 weeks old and i think whats happened is the cable has maybe stretched a little bit allowing the derailer to move closer to the frame(if it had been set up correctly this would not be possible).

Im not a happy chappy and would like opinions on what I should do next as i dont want a frame thats been compromised ?

Thanks

PeterD

Take it back to the shop or retailer where you originally bought it .

OP
OP
C

Cuber

Thanks guys its defo going back just wondering where i stand legally.

Took a few pics to show the damage and will try to upload.

You cant really see but the derailer is nearly touching down tube and there was only going to be one outcome here sadly.

OP
OP
C

Cuber

Pics

Attachments

• cube frame 001.JPG
    cube frame 001.JPG
    243.9 KB · Views: 341
  • cube frame 002.JPG
    cube frame 002.JPG
    342.4 KB · Views: 268
  • cube frame 003.JPG
    cube frame 003.JPG
    258.6 KB · Views: 322
  • cube frame 004.JPG
    cube frame 004.JPG
    257.7 KB · Views: 437
OP
OP
C

Cuber

Well I guess your claim is that the limit-screw wasn't set-up right and that's the vendor's responsibility (fit for purpose and all that).

How well this would go down with the vendor I don't know - you'll just have to see.

Buy good luck anyway!

Yep limit screw not set right(see pic)one on left how it was,one on right after I sorted it.

Note how the derailer arm is parralel to downtube when set correctly.

Will phone Tredz when they open see what they say.

Thanks

Attachments

• Derailer before and after correction..jpg
    Derailer before and after correction..jpg
    117.3 KB · Views: 127
OP
OP
C

Cuber