child bike trailer - which is best?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Dreaded squirrel

Not sure if this is the right place to post this.....I'm new to the world of cycling with kids, and am a bit bewildered by the choice and price range of trailers. Would really appreciation any recommendations and whatever the opposite of a recommendation is. Cheers.

Night Train

Maker of Things
I've only used one type of childs trailer, the sort available from Argos but for two really small kids a bit like this one. I had a 12 year old disabled kid in it.

It was ok to pull with a hire bike on a fairly level route but it was a killer on steep slopes and access ramps especially with a kid who shouts 'Slow down!' at anything over 2mph. It tracked fine and wasn't really too noticable behind except for the weight.

I don't need a kids trailer so I haven't looked any further into the options but I am planning to build a cargo trailer.

Oh, welcome to the forum. Its good here.

funnymummy

A Dizzy M.A.B.I.L
Hi Squirrel - I am a trailer tower!!
I wanted to get back into riding when my youngest was about a year, so did a huge tour of shops selling trailers - I was on a very lmited budget of £200 & all the ones that bracket seemed filmsy & insubtantial. The ones I really like Burley, Chariot were right out my range so I looked on Ebay to see if i could get a decent second hand one, but still found them going for silly money there.
But I did find an Ebay shop business based in Germany & bought one from them, it only cost me around £50 inc P&P (but I suppose the price deepend on who' bidding at any given etc)
It's steel framed with a real sturdy waterproof cover - yes it is a tad heavy at 16K but it's built like a tank & can tackle just about any terrain.