Cleats, pedals and shoes on their way... panicing a bit!

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

JamesK

Über Member
Hi folks,

I'm pretty new to cycling, did it as a kid but this is the first time I've really done it for about 10 years. Been reading this forum over the last few days and it's great! Loads of advice but I've managed to get myself a bit lost.

I have a hybrid bike for commuting to work but I can see myself getting the bug already and am looking to buy a road bike in the near future, depending on how it goes.

At the moment I've started off just buying some shoes, Shimano M075s and pedals, shimano M520s. I didn't want road shoes as I will be walking a little at each end to my garage and into the office and I am not trying to race anyone :smile:

I am getting quite concerned about how I am going to adjust/fit the cleats properly. I've read lots on here about them - eg, sit on a table and look at the angle of your legs/feet and keep maki n g lots of adjustments til you get them right, but now I've read so much I'm completely lost! As I sit on a table and look down, my legs seem pretty straight but my feet seem to point outwards a bit (toes pointing outwards compared to the heel). So... what does this mean?! Does it mean I need cleats with float? I've tried to find out exactly what float means but I can't really figure it out. Does it mean there's some sort of movement in the cleats as you cycle, or that they are just set at a slightly different angle...? Am I worrying about something that will be obvious when they arrive? Is it possible/likely that the cleats that come with the shoe will be inappropriate?

Also, given that I am now going to go clipless and am likely to have a clipless moment before long :sad: , should I buy some gloves?? Any recommendations?

Finally, I bought this stuff online, I'm now pretty sure I will go to my LBS from now on as you can actually get an expert to explain things to you!