Commuting with Children

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Rozza2012

Regular
Hi,

I am new to all of this commuting by bike etc. I decided to buy myself a cheap bike and cycle to work as my car insurance has doubled. My journey is approx 1 mile to the nursery and 4 miles after that to work. The 2 times ive gone so far have been ok (altho please tell me it will get easier lol)

I have bought one of these (i know its nothing special but hopefully it will keep me going for while)
Trax TXC.1 Mens Mountain Bike 2011 - 19"

http://www.halfords.com/webapp/wcs/..._productId_809257_langId_-1_categoryId_165499

I have also bought a front child seat so that i can take my 4 year old to nursery, altho I have managed to fit the seat to my bike its not very good because the top tube is not round. I dont suppose anyone has any other suggestions or any other way of attaching a front seat? (prefebly removeable as my current one is fixed.)

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Child-Bik...K_SportGoods_CyclAcces_RL&hash=item5ade11e2a2

Thanks for any suggestions
Paul

fossyant

Ride It Like You Stole It!
Seat's on the back - much better, and they pop off the bracket in seconds so you can leave that at the nursery.

PS make sure you keep on top of maintenance and oiling that Trax, they are rather pants. If you abuse it, it will fall to bits. Oh and check the bolts are tight if Halfords did the build.

OP
OP
R

Rozza2012

Regular
Yeah can leave it at his nursery.

Wasnt sure how easily they are to take off. Hes not that big or heavy. Was just thinking it would add alot extra weight.

sabian92

Über Member
I'd avoid relying on Halfords for everything - they're not a bike shop, they're a shop that happens to sell bikes and as such tend to be monkeys with spanners - not proper bike mechanics. They claim they employ "experts", who are actually 16 year old muppets who'd rather half arse a job than be on the dole.

OP
OP
R

Rozza2012

Regular
that might be settled then...