complete beginner help

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

mikeyLondon

hi there

complete beginner to cycling and wish to purchase a bike for commuting to work and to just generally start a new hobby...

However I haven't a clue about bikes so would love some advise... I wish to purchase a nice light road bike, second hand with a budget of around £175 to £200

can anyone give me a name for the type of bike im looking for???

thanks in advance

Alan Whicker

Have you tried your local freecycle? You might be lucky and get a bike for nothing.

If you stick to the major brands like Trek, Giant, Specialized etc you won't go too far wrong - although buying second hand is a minefield (loads of advice on here - perhaps do a search, this is a common question). Ebay is the obvious place to start, but you could also ask around at work/college. You'd be amazed what people have in the back of their sheds or under the stairs.

How far is your commute? I ride 10-12 miles a day on a delightful Trek 7.3FX, but I managed for ages on an old Specialized Hardrock with slick tyres. It went like stink, and was very comfy and light. It's now retired to Devon for visits to the in-laws. Mountain bikes are out of 'fashion' in London it seems, so there's loads of quality rides to be had for peanuts, if you don't necessarily want drop handlebars
thumbsup.png

mightyquin

I've just been through this. Not a newcomer to cycling but been without a useable bike for a couple of years, and the last one was a budget level Raleigh mountain bike.

I started off thinking I'd just buy another cheap mountain bike in the sales. Then I started reading the forums.......then I found out about Single Speed/Fixies and now I've got a Kona Paddywagon and love it. I bought off ebay, regretted it as I realised I didn't know what I'd bought, but was lucky to have picked up a bargain as it turns out!