Cube Attempt, Cube Streamer or Trek 1.5?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

NickF

Hi all,

I'm new to the world of Road Bikes, although I've done plenty of cycling before, just always with a mountain bike!

I'm just about to order my first Road Bike and have narrowed it down to:

- 2009 Cube Attempt
- 2009 Cube Streamer
- 2010 Trek 1.5 (Compact or Triple)

Before going ahead and making my purchase, I just wanted to get some experienced opinions from people who have been riding Road Bikes previously.

I know that Cube are the lesser known brand of the two, but they look great (although that's not exactly high on the list of priorities!) and they are very well spec'd, particularily the Streamer. The Trek, is also well spec'd, but doesn't look as good value for money and I'm not keen on the colour!

I've considered Specialized, but after comparing them in the flesh to Cube and Trek, the latter seemed to be better build quality and spec.

What do you guys think? All thoughts are welcome!

Many thanks,

Nick

Downward

Guru
White ? - Good looking bike !
dsc00431r.jpg

OP
OP
NickF

NickF

Thanks for the replies guys!

Downward said:
White ? - Good looking bike !

Downward, don't get me wrong, it's a fantastic looking bike and not a bad colour. I just didn't want a white bike, as my fear would be wear and tear on the paint being more noticeable and also getting dirty quite quickly!

It's still a serious contenter to being bought, so depending on what happens tomorrow, I may be joining you in the trek ownership club!

MacB said:
I like the look of the Cube Streamer, seen it at Chain Reaction for the 2009 model triple with ultegra SL:-

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Models.aspx?ModelID=30566

£959 seems a pretty good price

MacB, my thoughts too on the price, are that it seems very reasonable. The bike has a fantastic spec and the guys at CRC rave about Cube bikes. The Ultegra SL parts are a definite attraction!