Cycle Routes

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

BigF

Hi,

I'm really sorry if this is a basic question, but I'm a bit new to this... I want to start cycling to Canary Wharf from NW London (up near Willesden Green).

Can anyone either:

1) Recommend a decent route that isn't too crazy on traffic.

2) OR recommend a good website that will generate a good route (some of the other websites I found kind of ask you to plot your route, which implies that you know the route you want to take in the first place)

Again, apologies if this is a bit basic, but any help would be really, really appreciated.

Thanks All

Don't apologise mate,you are welcome here.:tongue:

Although I probably can't help too much.:blush:

My technique (Manchester, not London though, sorry!) has been

1. ask around at work and see if anyone else has tips (sometimes the roads shown on maps or websites look great, but are not that nice to cycle on for various reasons)
  2. find some printed maps - in Manchester there are a set which are pretty good - shows both cycle lanes, routes, recommended quieter roads etc
  3. use something like mapmyride.com to check out the route you're thinking of after the first two points - as pointed out elsewhere on this forum, mapmyride isn't really a cycling plotter (it'll only pick up streets, not cycling paths if offroad) but is pretty easy to use, and I like that it shows the elevation - it'll also calculate distance so you can compare two options.
Just looked at cyclestreets and, for Manchester at least, it seems they only show numbered 'routes' so far, not cycle lanes, recommended roads, etc - but hopefully that'll improve.

PBancroft

mr_cellophane said:
I use http://www.cyclestreets.net/ since I found them I have shaved 10 minutes off my route.