Dawes Super Galaxy 2011 vs. Ridgeback Panorama

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

hywel

How many times must I hear that the Dawes Galaxy is the standard by which all other tourers are judged? Well then, let's do some judging! With only £120 between the two bikes (Evans Cycles website), it's not easy to pick a winner between them. I'd be very grateful if you were able to provide either a comparison of the technical aspects (I'm pretty new to these things) or else a more subjective description of your experiences using the two bikes.

I'd use the bike to commute each day along hilly roads as well as for off-road day trips and the occasional camping holiday. I'm quite tall at 6'2".

threebikesmcginty

Corn Fed Hick...
Save yourself a few more £100 and have a look at them from Spa Cycles - http://www.spacycles.co.uk/products.php?plid=m1b1s21p0&tbv=DAWES_BIKES_Touring,_Audax_&_Sportive

Moodyman

Legendary Member
If you want a leftfield choice, you could consider the Kona Sutra or Surly LHT

Both North American and both as good as the British bikes

Of course you can build your own, to a spec that suits your own riding style, with regard to body shape, etc. and a more interesting way it is.
Plenty of frames out there to chose from, you might even have a frame which you like, then you can pic and mix the parts to suit.

P.H

Über Member