Do motorists respect cyclists?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

gmc

Hello,

I'm doing a University project and would really appreciate some responses.

I'm an advertising student, and was given the brief 'find a problem, and then solve it'. I decided to go with the problem 'motorists don't respect cyclists'.

If you have any insights or experiences where you feel motorists haven't respected you, or any stories you could tell about your experiences it's be great.

- Do you feel motorists drive aggressively towards cyclists?

- Do you feel cyclists and motorists respect each other?

I've been doing a lot of research into this, trying to find some insights into what I could do to gain more respect for cyclists. Other campaigns don't seem to be working, so I'm trying to take it a lot further and get a lot of people on board with the idea.

Any responses would be greatly appreciated and taken on board.

Thank you.

No they don't.

Car ownership in many towns and cities in the UK and eleswhere takes on the some of the features of profound mental illness. Delusion and denial, an inability to grasp reality. Look at the TV ads for cars, all of them set in beautiful landscapes and deserted highways, or in city scapes devoid of other vehicles. Drivers buy-in to the great car culture, the illusion of freedom and the artificial construct of 'status' only to discover on a daily basis that the fantasy doesn't meet the reality and this is a source of tremendous frustration to them.

The car reinforces many of the behavioural characteristics which we try to beat out of our children, selfishness, bullying, aggression. They often take it out on each other but in the back of their minds is the sense that other drivers are at least 'on the same team'. When it comes to cyclists though, the gloves are off. They pay road tax don't you know, and enormous repayments, and fuel and insurance...