downtube/Sti update

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

curzons246

Veteran
Is it possible to fit sti brake/gear shifters to replace my downtube friction shifters - the drive train is all Shimano 600ex arabesque - Thanks Bill

I'm no expert but I would have thought so, I fitted sti's to a bike that had rapid fire shifters its just the speed compatibility I think which needs to be met.

Shimano 600ex 'Arabesque'? Is it even indexed? How many sprockets?

STIs can be the most expensive component on a new bike. If what you are trying to acheive is more accessible shifters perhaps you should consider bar ends, their easier to fit and much cheaper.

RecordAceFromNew

Swinging Member
Unfortunately it is not going to be as straightforward as just introducing drop bar sti levers and downtube cable stop I think.

According to this and this while some 600 mechs were SIS that is not the case with the 600EX Arabesque. Manufactured from 1978 to 1984, they preceded Shimano's indexed systems. What that means is that you will need to replace the rear mech by something more modern to index with sti.

But that is the easy part, the potentially more challenging issue lies with what speed sti will you and can you get, and whether your existing rear wheel (if it has freewheel and not freehub) and indeed frame (if you have 5, 6 or 7 speed currently, and if the frame is not steel) can accommodate.

Given the sprocket spacing of Shimano 7 and 8 differ by only 0.2mm, it is just about possible to cheat by using Shimano 8 speed sti (currently available in either the 2300 or R500 series) on a 7 speed freewheel or cassette if cable tension is set to centre the mech on the 4th sprocket, but definitely not on 5 or 6 speed freewheels.

To provide more precise advice I think more detailed info on the existing configuration is required.

Hope it helps.

youngoldbloke

The older I get, the faster I used to be ...