Early morning commute

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

stemaka

I am a bus driver and work shifts.I have just started commuting to work again after about a year.I live in Leeds and work in Barnsley.So it's from Elland rd Leeds -Tingley-East Ardsley-Wakefield then A 61 to Barnsley.It's 18 mile each way and at the moment takes me about 1 hr and 15 mins.Once i get fit again (i'm an ex racing guy)i should do it around the hour (i have to carry my uniform,boots,cash tray ect in my panniers) so is quite heavy.
Because i work shifts,(i'm on earlies this week)i have to get up even earlier than when i went in the car(about 45 mins earlier).This morning i set off from home at 4.45 am.Tomorrow i will leave home at 4.00 am and on wednesday i will leave home at 3.00 am.Thur my day off so will look forward to a lay in.The hardest thing i find is not the cycling but getting out of bed.Must admit though it's a great time of the day for riding as there is no traffic.And i get to cycle back home after work in the early afternoon in the light,so i will use more of the lanes through Royston to Wakefield then home.
So does anyone else commute at an unearthly time of the morning like me?:biggrin:

classic33

Leg End Member
Used to. At one stage I'd have been coming home at the the time your leaving.

Debian

I leave at 6.15 a.m. and that's a big struggle for me sometimes. Does 4 a.m. actually exist!

You have my sincere admiration for being able to get up at that hour and then cycle nearly 20 miles! :biggrin:

I don't,I've been doing it too long.Shiftwork since 1982.

Today I left at 330am,tommorow 430am wed 415am thursday restday and friday 330am.Sat/Sun,not sure yet

Must admit though it's a great time of the day for riding as there is no traffic.

Agreed although it becomes bandit country during the weekend.

hello.

stemaka said:
Agreed,take my hat off to ya mate;).Nice to know i'm not the only one up that time of day.*