Essentials for the winter commute?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

sabian92

Über Member
Hello,

Basically, because I'm a skint student i'm going to be riding my bike to college next year at least 3 days a week without fail. Because it's still the summer(ish) i've been pottering about in a pair of bibs, shorts and a t-shirt, which I imagine would be bloody horrible when it's freezing, pissing with rain and windy, what would you personally say is the best things to buy for a winter commute? It's only 3 miles each way but on the way home I'm going to be extending that to 10, possibly 15/20 when I get fitter to start losing weight a bit quicker (Going to Greece next year, would like to lose around 4 and a half stone but I know that isn't happening... :whistle: :biggrin:)

I'm desperate for a rack/panniers anyway (hate having a sweaty back!) and probably at least a rear mudguard as well, but what else would you say is essential clothing and accessory wise?

Cheers.

Decent lights, and at least 2 front and back for when one inevitably runs out of battery while you are riding.

Leg warmers under bibs and rain trousers (if you haven't any winter tights).

Overshoes.

Wind jacket and rain jacket above long-sleeved jersey, or s/s with arm warmers.

Headband and skull cap (winter balacava if it's REALLY cold).

Buff around neck.

GOOD gloves/mittens.

Yellow-lensed glasses for the grey days.

Hi-viz jacket if your other jackets are dark colours.

Good lights.

Tools and stuff for roadside repairs.

Dave Crampton

Get Neoprene overshoes, which should last a few seasons for as little as £14, I have the Endura overshoes which took a battering from my cheepo SPDs when I wore them riding my MTB. I just sewed then when the under sole tore, but at the end of the season you could easily replace them at £14. They do two things, keep you're shoes clean & dry and new looking.