First Audax

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Ergates

I've been commuting in for a few months now (34mile round trip) and am now thinking of taking part in the odd longer distance event for a bit of fun.

I'm considering the Alfreton 110k "To the Races" as a starter as it's: not too long, reasonably close (I live near Wolverhampton), soonish.

I think my bike is pretty suitable (a Crois de Fer with panniers and mudguards)- the only thing that does worry me a little about it is the seat. It's fine for a 17 mile commute, but a 68 mile. Are the any suggested/recomended/generally well regarded seats? It's something I know nothing about and am finding it hard to find info on (searching for "seat" or "saddle" on here turns up pretty much everything *but* what I'm looking for).-------------------------

Also, any general suggestions for a beginner. I'm guessing it'll all be pretty straight forward - turn up, ride for a bit, go home. Is that a fair assessment? (I'm assuming they generally finish at the same place they start from??)

Peter10

I think a lot will recommend a Brooks saddle, which are apparently the best. I've never had one so I can't comment but I am tempted to get one myself off the reviews from people here. I wonder the same about my saddle at times. The longest ride I've been on it is 25 miles and I had no aches or pains, but to do more than double could be an issue.

Saddles are a very personal thing (as you might expect) I love my Selle Pro Link but I think that a good pad in the shorts/longs is equally important as is getting one backside used to being in the saddle for long periods. Try a 40 mile then a 50 first, see how it feels.

jimboalee

Saddles are a very personal thing (as you might expect) I love my Selle Pro Link but I think that a good pad in the shorts/longs is equally important as is getting one backside used to being in the saddle for long periods. Try a 40 mile then a 50 first, see how it feels.