First ride over 20 miles.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Rollon

Reading topics about first 50 and 100 miles leaves me gobsmacked. I did my first ride over 20 miles today on my Spec Tricross with a reasonably heavy rack bag come panniers. It was only my third ride since getting knocked off five weeks ago. Over a very undulating route and wishing at times I had an extra gear (I have 27) I managed 33 miles in 3 hours cycling. 3.5 hours altogether. I was slightly proud that I managed all the hills without getting off and pushing.
My cycling ambitions are towards touring rather than racing, I am a 63 year old novice, still fit from over 50 years of Fell running etc, but cycling is different and I foresee difficulties in trying to manage 60 or more miles a day, day in day out with a full touring rack.
Trying hard and hoping to become better.
Dave.

Spinney

Bimbleur extraordinaire
If you can run up hills, you should get to the 100 mile mark without too many problems!

Telemark

Cycling is fun ...
Hi Dave,

you'll surprise yourself, with your fell running history you should have more than enough stamina. What you haven't mentioned is your cycling history/expertise. Is there a possibility that your bike isn't set up properly for you, i.e. saddle height etc? That could possibly make a big difference.

The trick with touring is to take it easy, especially with a fully loaded bike, and during the first couple of days. After a few days you hardly notice the extra load, until you go out for a quick spin without it - feels like you are flying :ohmy:.

We do a couple hours cycling in the morning, have a tea/coffee/cake stop in a scenic place, then carry on for a bit before lunch, etc, you get the idea :boxing:. You'll have covered 100 k before you realise it. I like to stop and take photos, or even do some sightseeing and short walks up hills I come across when touring.