Fitter, but not slimmer

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
I've been commuting on my new commute now for just over 3 months. Taking the scenic, quieter, hillier route, which I much prefer, means I am commuting 23 miles a day instead of my previous 10.

I must admit I was expecting to loose a bit of weight. I hoped I would. I'm not seriously overweight, I'd just like to loose about 5-6kgs that i don't need. I don't seem to have lost them (maybe a kilo). I must be eating more as well....oops! :ohmy:

What I have noticed is that although I felt fit before, I am getting fitter. Until recently my resting heart rate has been in the mid 50's. Over the last week or so, I've been measuring it and it seems to be down to about 47! :sad: (Yes I know some on here will have much lower!)

Now I know that resting heart rate in itself is not a great indicator of fitness, but I assume the drop does indicate an relative improvement. I'm certainly finding the hills on the route easier now than I did at the start, and I now realise how short my previous commute was!

So what are other peoples experiences of increasing commute distances. Has it helped to shed the pounds? Has it significantly improved your fitness?

ianrauk

Tattooed Beat Messiah
I could still do with losing half a stone. But it's proving to be pretty stubborn to do. My 30+ mile round commute has definitely made me far fitter then I ever was. And my stamina has definitely increased no end, as witness to myself on the FNRttC at the weekend. However with all the commuting and extra riding I seem to be constantly hungry, So i'm not really watching what I am eating but I am not eating a ton of crap like I used to.

Too knackered to increase my commuting distance.I checked my weight this morning and it's steady at 15 and a half stone and it has been for ages.

Keith Oates

Janner