fixed for £200?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

henryst

I'm a newbie here and also in the world of fixie's. First of all a stupid question - what is the bike called if you have a single speed that can also freewheel (don't fancy fixed just yet!)? Next, what shall I buy for my first one? I've been riding in london for a while and bought a very heavy 1976 triumph with 3-speed sturmey archers that soon got stuck in second! The bike weighs about 18-19 kgs I reckon.

Any ideas???

HaloJ

Rabid cycle nut
It's called a single speed. You could aim for getting a fixed/free flip-flop hub on the rear which will enable you to ride either way. How much are you willing to scavenge from the old bike as you could get a steel reynolds 531 frame n fork second hand and transfer the gubbins? Could in effect be the purchase of a frame and rear wheel/hub.

I'm collating bits at the moment to build my first fixie but with no bike I'm willing to scavenge parts off to begin. Frame n fork, chainset, brake levers, calipers and pedals all sorted so far for about £100. I'm trying to keep it under £150 but think it'll likely be more like £200. Good learning experience though.
thumbsup.png

May be worth reading Sheldon's thoughts on fixies....
http://www.sheldonbrown.com/fixed.html

PS where's the reason for edit box gone?

swee'pea99

Legendary Member
I wouldn't have thought much would be worth transferring. In particular, the wheels are likely to be horrible - solid steel, heavy, and lethal in the wet. (Not to mention the back one has a hub gear.) You'd be much better off using that bike as a stop gap to give you the time to find your new one.