Fixies - Foffa bikes any good?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

snapper

Hi first of all, this being my first post. Clearly I'm new to this but recently came across this website http://www.cyclechat.co.uk/forums/Foffa bikes http://foffabikes.com/ Foffa fixies. To my untrained eye they look great and good prices too but has anyone heard of their rep. Are the bikes worth buying? I certainly like the look and price but dont want to get drawn in to a rubbish buy just for the sake of it if they're not as good as they seem.

Cheers.
http://www.cyclechat.co.uk/forums/Foffa

kyuss

Veteran
Their prices are way off. Nearly £400 for an old steel frame and cheap parts. You could build something yourself for half that price.

MajorMantra

MacB said:
I would really like to know how you build up a bike for £200?

Start with an old road bike and you could easily do it. A suicide hub conversion could easily come in under £100 if the bike was cheap to begin with and you can pick up a basic fixed wheelset for something like £90.

Matthew

MajorMantra

Just had a look at that site actually. The conversions do look a bit overpriced but the Prima that they're releasing next year seems quite decent actually - a full build with a new 4130 frame isn't bad value at £399.

Matthew

I have to say, it worries me one of their bikes has a magic gear. Very dangerous unless you are watching it like a hawk.

I'd ride a bike with a magic gear if I built it myself, but I wouldn't sell someone else one, and these people shouldn't either.

MajorMantra

chris667 said:
I have to say, it worries me one of their bikes has a magic gear. Very dangerous unless you are watching it like a hawk.

I'd ride a bike with a magic gear if I built it myself, but I wouldn't sell someone else one, and these people shouldn't either.