"Fork clamp" cycle carrier advice

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

HopkinsCI

Please can I ask for advice to help me choose the most appropriate roofbar mounted cycle carrier. Actually, cycle carriers, plural, as I need two.

I have many years good experience with Thule products so my first port of call was to look at the FreeRide 530 and ProRide 591 carriers that secure the bike by clamping the forward downtube. My wife's bike has a very oversized alloy downtube though, so I would need to be careful that jaws open wide enough.

By accident however I came across another Thule product, the OutRide 561 that operates by clamping the fork ends with the front wheel removed.

This appeals a lot as the bike will theoretically be more stable, but I wonder about the practicalities of holding bikes on the carrier without slipping whilst securing things and denting the roof from fork-ends in the process. FWIW the car is a Volvo V70, so not a sky scraper MPV.

Advice, as well as alternative products to consider, much appreciated.

Thank you,
HopkinsCI

Will1985

Über Member
Good car to carry bikes - ditto what Mr Paul says. The pro teams do it only when following riders in a race, but then a) they are only driving at 30mph, and :wacko: they can afford to replace forks if they do get damaged.

Have you thought of getting a clip on high? I can't remember which one is compatible, but that is what we used to take my bikes between university and home. Much easier to move the bikes and you protect most of the bike's area from the wind (I'm thinking more about the midges you find on bumpers that will also end up stuck to the handlebars, frame and saddle), which may also reduce drag by a tiny amount!

OP
OP
H

HopkinsCI

Hi User and Will1985,

Looks like it'll be a ProRide 591 then.
Many thanks for your swift advice.