French trains

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

rich p

ridiculous old lush
I'm thinking of hopping over the channel in July and going some way south using provincial trains (ie. not TGV). Does anyone know whether bikes on these trains are welcomed, have to be pre-booked etc? Do they go in 'guards vans' or in the corridors?

Any info gratefully received.

Brock

I've no experience (yet) but this site looks helpful?
http://fubicy.org/rubrique.php3?id_rubrique=36

JackE

Über Member
You won't have any problems on non TGV trains. Sometimes there's been a dedicated area for bikes, other times we just tied them to a handrail as best we could. They don't seem to worry about Health and Safety issues as much in France. We've had a few nightmares with TGV's and the SNCF staff at Gare du Nord. Perhaps it's better outside the capital.

OP
OP
rich p

rich p

ridiculous old lush
JackE said:
You won't have any problems on non TGV trains. Sometimes there's been a dedicated area for bikes, other times we just tied them to a handrail as best we could. They don't seem to worry about Health and Safety issues as much in France. We've had a few nightmares with TGV's and the SNCF staff at Gare du Nord. Perhaps it's better outside the capital.

That's what I'm hoping. The laissez-faire approach!

ASC1951

Guru
rich p said:
That's what I'm hoping. The laissez-faire approach!
It must have changed, then. Last time I tried, SNCF would only accept bikes on the main network if you pre-booked and sent them three days before you boarded yourself - any exceptions required a personal dispensation from M. Le President.

That was a little while ago, in fairness. Maybe De Gaulle has passed the task on to someone more junior.

JackE

Über Member