Going for it?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Auntie Helen

Ich bin Powerfrau!
I've been cycling now for about 3 months (after a gap of 15 years) on a Trice recumbent tricycle. I tend to do about 15 miles per day but have done a few longer journeys (26 miles has been my max so far).

I've got a bit of a hankering to cycle to my parents' house (39 miles away) as a surprise. I could potentially decide to cycle just there and get my husband to pick me up so it's not that I'd have to do 80 miles in total. However is it too big a jump from 26 miles max to 40 miles? Should I increase my distance in smaller stages (i.e. try 30 miles next)? For reference, after all my cycle rides I don't ever feel completely knackered, I tend to feel I could go a fair bit further, but the journey to my folks' includes some bigger hills than I'm used to and the Trice goes up hills like treacle.

So do I go for it, set off for pastures new 40 miles away, or might I come a-cropper?

Sh4rkyBloke

Jaffa Cake monster
You'll be fine.

I've just jumped from a 60 mile trip to a 100 miles with no training whatsoever other than my daily 12 miles commuting. No unreasonable aches and/or pains.

You have a nice comfy seat on wheels which you don't need to even balance on!! Get on and do it! (but take a mobile so you can call your hubby if you really need to!). :smile:

longers

Legendary Member
I think you'll be just fine :biggrin:

If your husband is willing to pick you up from there anyway, then he should be willing to pick you up from almost there :smile:

OP
OP
Auntie Helen

Auntie Helen

Ich bin Powerfrau!
longers said:
If your husband is willing to pick you up from there anyway, then he should be willing to pick you up from almost there :smile:
Yes this is true but I so hate failing at a task I set myself.

If I manage it (and scrounge a good hearty meal and a nice shower and a rest at the parents') I might try cycling some of the way back as well.