Hello and Newbie Questions

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

bigsi

Hi there, first post :smile:

I am a complete newbie to cycling, my last bike would have been a Raleigh Drifter LOL :smile:

I currently weigh 21 stones, and have been cycling as part of losing weight and so far its working (was 24 stones) I am currently doing about 15-20miles on a run, with variety of hills etc.

I am using a Mountain Bike, with big chunky 26" 2.1 tyres that are knobbly, my thinking is more weight needs more tyre, am I correct to assume that slicker tyres create less resistance, the reason I ask is I am running out of new routes and would like to get further afield, but at the moment my fitness limits me, also can anyone recommend some that come in at a reasonable cost?

So if I swap to slicker tyres, can I expect to travel further with less effort? or is the difference negligible?

Second question, are all Pedals universal in fitment? the ones on this bike are resin, and I would like to get some alloy onces (as I have broken some off one pedal) can I just pick some up and expect them to fit?

Thanks
Simon

WychwoodTrev

Hi there, first post :smile:

I am a complete newbie to cycling, my last bike would have been a Raleigh Drifter LOL :smile:

I currently weigh 21 stones, and have been cycling as part of losing weight and so far its working (was 24 stones) I am currently doing about 15-20miles on a run, with variety of hills etc.

I am using a Mountain Bike, with big chunky 26" 2.1 tyres that are knobbly, my thinking is more weight needs more tyre, am I correct to assume that slicker tyres create less resistance, the reason I ask is I am running out of new routes and would like to get further afield, but at the moment my fitness limits me, also can anyone recommend some that come in at a reasonable cost?

So if I swap to slicker tyres, can I expect to travel further with less effort? or is the difference negligible?